Embassy of the Dominican Republic in the United Arab Emirates
HomeContact Us | Links | Site Map|
Music <bgsound src="https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2115780/jose%20antonio%20molina%20-%20imagenes%20y%20musica%20del%20caribe%2002.mp3" mce_src="https://dl.dropbox.com/u/2115780/jose%20antonio%20molina%20-%20imagenes%20y%20musica%20del%20caribe%2002.mp3" loop="infinite">


Political Parties
The Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC), the Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) and the Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD).
Legal System
Based on French civil codes; Criminal Procedures Code modified in 2004 to include important elements of an accusatory system; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction.
Universal and compulsory; over 18 or married. Members of the armed forces and national police cannot vote.
Executive Branch
Chief of State: President Leonel Fernandez Reyna (since 16 August 2004); Vice President Rafael Alburquerque de Castro (since 16 August 2004); (note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government).
Cabinet nominated by the president.
President and vice president elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms (eligible for a second term); election last held in May 2008)
Legislative Branch
Legislative Branch: Bicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional consists of the Senate or Senado (32 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms) and the House of Representatives or Camara de Diputados (150 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms) elections: Senate and House of Representatives
Judicial Branch
Supreme Court or Corte Suprema (judges are appointed by the National Judicial Council comprised of the president, the leaders of both chambers of congress, the president of the Supreme Court, and an additional non-governing party congressional representative).
©2018 Embassy of the Dominican Republic in the UAE. All Rights Reserved.